Understanding the 4 Stages of Group Development. In 1965, a psychologist named Bruce Tuckman identified a 4 stage model of group development. The 4 stages that were identified are:

The first stage is Forming, and the primary focus in this stage is on the people. This includes defining roles, building relationships, creating structure and developing group norms.

As time goes on, conflicts eventually arise and teams transition into the Storming stage. This is when frustration and disagreements about roles, goals, and responsibilities begin to surface.

During the Norming stage, team members resolve their differences and begin to shift their energy toward the team’s goals. Members start to feel like they are part of a team and can take pleasure from the increased group cohesion.

In the Performing stage, processes, structures, and relationships work without friction and the team makes significant progress towards its goals.



Product Manager | Facilitator | Former Nurse | Army Vet | Always Forward!

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

5 Ethical Business Rules of Creative Services

Don’t Sell Yourself Short — Lessons in not F*cking up your job interview

Connecting science and industry: ‘Researchers meet Innovators’ at TU Berlin (Part 2)

Leveraging the 21st Century skills by Developer Student Club JKUAT.

Are you a job search drone?

Ahead of the Curve: Odetta Insights on Successfully Working Remote

How To Promote A Culture Of Friendliness Within The Workplace

We Should Use Trello

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Roman Grant

Roman Grant

Product Manager | Facilitator | Former Nurse | Army Vet | Always Forward!

More from Medium

A community-led organisation needs no managers

The Program Team: What They Do and Why it Matters

The Program Team: What They Do And Why it Matters

Can you trust your management information?

GVAP Overview: A way to crush meetings, care for people and share outcomes.